◆ LootWiki

Bongo Cat Auto Clicker: Rules and Official Automation

Scope: All 63 official Steam announcements and the Steam store description as read on October 9, 2026 (dates on this page are UTC); detection of automated input, account bans and click-rate limits are not in those sources and are marked not confirmed. Third-party auto clickers and macro tools are not covered; The Farmer Was Replaced is a separate game with an official tie-in

Key points

  • We found no official rule that allows or forbids auto clickers: the words clicker, macro, cheat, exploit and ban (as a whole word) have 0 matches in the titles and text of the 63 Steam announcements read on October 9, 2026.
  • The one way to automate taps named in those announcements is The Typer Was Replaced, an official tie-in with the separate game The Farmer Was Replaced, whose tap() function is called in a loop.
  • Two separate posts, not one stated rule: the February 23, 2025 demo update set the drop timer to 30 minutes, and the March 18, 2025 notes show the chest popup at 1,000 clicks. After that demo update no announcement calls any length of time the drop timer (a May 8, 2025 fix post mentions 30min without calling it the drop timer).
  • On March 11, 2025 the developer wrote "I noticed bot accounts farming thousands of items" and removed trading between two users; a November 10, 2025 post re-enabled all items for trading with friends. None of the 63 announcements announces an account ban or a wipe of farmed items; the one offer to revert something for players is in the May 9, 2025 post, about a player's last exchange.
A black cat skin wearing a ninja headband with two sword hilts behind it, tapping above a counter reading 47 315
Official screenshot · Irox Games (Steam store page)
On this page
  1. Is an auto clicker allowed in Bongo Cat?
  2. What has the developer announced about bots, AFK and automation?
  3. What is The Typer Was Replaced, the official automation?
  4. Do more clicks get you more chests?
  5. What did the developer do about bot farming?
  6. What happened to the 5 million click reward?
  7. Does Bongo Cat flag you as AFK?
  8. Should you use one?
  9. Sources
  10. Related guides

We found no official Bongo Cat rule that allows or forbids an auto clicker: the 63 Steam announcements read on October 9, 2026 lack the words clicker, macro, cheat and ban. The one tap automation they name is The Typer Was Replaced. On our reading of two 2025 patch notes, faster clicking may not add regular chests; not confirmed.

Is an auto clicker allowed in Bongo Cat?

Not confirmed either way. We found no rule on automated input in the official Steam announcement feed, and the description on the Steam store page says "Every time you press a key, Bongo cat will punch your taskbar. Type, click, play, work to collect more points." and gives no rule on automated input. On October 9, 2026 we searched the title and full text of the 63 announcements for the words players use for this topic:

Search termAnnouncements containing itWhich ones
auto clicker, clicker0None
macro0None
cheat0None
ban, banned (whole word)0None
exploit, script, hack0None
bot, bots (whole word)1March 11, 2025
afk2April 16 and April 20, 2026
typer2April 13 and April 16, 2026
tap()1April 16, 2026

So three things are not confirmed: whether the game can tell automated input from typing, whether any account has been restricted over it, and whether a click-rate limit exists. This page does not cover third-party auto clickers or macro tools, and we do not recommend one. The Farmer Was Replaced, described below, is a different case: a separate game on Steam with an official tie-in to Bongo Cat. The developer's forum replies on clickers and automatic chest opening are quoted on is Bongo Cat safe.

What has the developer announced about bots, AFK and automation?

Every row below is a post in the official announcement feed. The wording in quotes is the developer's.

PostedAnnouncementWhat it says
February 23, 2025Steam Next Fest Demo Update"Increase the drop timer to 30min"
March 11, 2025QoL, Bug Fixes and Trading Changes"I noticed bot accounts farming thousands of items"; trading between two users removed
March 18, 2025Bug fixes & Red Cross Fix"only shows chest popup if you have 1000 clicks"
March 28, 2025Bug Fixes & New Features"Total lifetime taps info in the settings menu"
November 10, 2025Animal Shelter - Charity Event"Re-enable all items for trading with friends!"
February 5, 2026Steam Typing FestReward for 1 million clicks, "edited back down from 5M"
April 13, 2026Meowtiplayer Chat, DLC Release, Collection BundleThe Typer was Replaced Bundle: "automate your Bongo Cat and Tap Tap Loot hero!!"
April 16, 2026Discord Integration, Afk Warning, The Typer Was ReplacedLobby inactivity flag "after 2 minutes of inactivity"; the tap() collab
April 20, 2026Community Voting, Language Filter & Fixes"Various fixes regarding the AFK timer + chat"

None of these posts states a penalty for automated input, and none describes an anti-cheat system.

What is The Typer Was Replaced, the official automation?

It is an official collab between Bongo Cat, Tap Tap Loot and The Farmer Was Replaced, a separate programming game sold on Steam. In the April 16, 2026 post the developer says they "tested around a bit with something called "IPC" short for "inter process communication". That allows two programs to "talk" to each other." The result: "you can automate both Bongo Cat and Tap Tap Loot. While your drone farms wheat, your adventurer fights monsters and your bongo cat taps along." The post names one function, tap(), called in a loop inside The Farmer Was Replaced.

The other studio confirms it from its side. The Farmer Was Replaced's own announcement of April 13, 2026 says "we built an integration to automate their games". Bongo Cat's April 16 post words the tie-in differently: its section on the collab speaks of testing IPC and of a "small collab".

Bongo Cat is free, but the collab needs The Farmer Was Replaced, which its Steam store page listed at US$9.99 (US region) on October 9, 2026. Neither post says how many taps one tap() call adds, whether there is a speed cap, or whether automated taps count the same as typed ones for chests, achievements and the Paw Pass. All three are not confirmed.

The February 5, 2026 notes mention a second link between programs: "an IPC connection to Tap Tap Loot, giving you buffs if you equip certain items". That line is the one mention of IPC in those notes, and it does not say what the connection carries, so whether it involves taps is not confirmed.

Do more clicks get you more chests?

Possibly not past a point, but that is our reading and not an official statement. The pieces come from different posts. The 30-minute figure is from the Steam Next Fest Demo Update of February 23, 2025 ("Increase the drop timer to 30min"), a patch to the demo before the full release of March 5, 2025. After that update no announcement calls any length of time the drop timer; the Steam Error Fix post of May 8, 2025 says "You might need to keep Bongo Cat running for 30min until it will work normally again", without saying that this is the chest timer. The 1,000 figure is from four posts: the March 18, 2025 notes ("only shows chest popup if you have 1000 clicks"), the May 8, 2025 notes (an option to disable the "-1000" number when you open a chest), and the June 27 and July 12, 2026 posts on opening a friend's chest. The April 20, 2025 update added a popup showing the taps subtracted when you buy a chest. No post says the timer and the 1,000 clicks are two gates on the same chest, so that pairing is not confirmed. The basics are on how to play.

What clicks pay forThe gateWhat extra clicks change
Regular chestPopup at 1,000 clicks (March 18, 2025 notes); 30-minute drop timer (February 23, 2025 demo update)If both apply together, nothing once you have 1,000 before the timer ends; not confirmed
A friend's chest"it costs you 1000 clicks, for your friend it's free" (June 27, 2026)Not confirmed; not stated in the announcements we read
A friend's emote chest"it costs you 1000 clicks, for your friend it's free" (July 12, 2026)Not confirmed; not stated in the announcements we read
Paw Pass rewardsMilestones; "no taps are consumed" (September 1, 2026)Taps per milestone are not stated
Tap achievementsTap totals; a counter reset "doesn't reset your achievement"Not confirmed; not stated in the announcements we read

By our arithmetic, three premises give a ceiling of 48 regular chests in 24 hours (24 × 2), using 48,000 clicks (48 × 1,000): that the demo update's 30-minute timer applies to the full release, that it allows one regular chest per timer, and that each chest takes 1,000 clicks. That is a derived figure, not an official one. After the February 23, 2025 demo update no announcement calls any length of time the drop timer (the May 8, 2025 Steam Error Fix post mentions 30min without calling it the chest timer), and none says one chest per timer. If the premises hold, clicks beyond that pace add nothing to regular chests.

No source we read ties rarity to clicking. The store description lists the drop pool chances as Common 90%, Uncommon 9.5%, Rare 0.49%, Epic 0.01% and Legendary 1 in 500000, marked "Subject to change", and none of the 63 announcements links those odds to how many taps you have. The expected number of chests per tier is worked out on the legendary odds page.

What did the developer do about bot farming?

The response the announcements document targeted trading, not input. On March 11, 2025 the developer wrote: "I noticed bot accounts farming thousands of items and by moving the items to one single account and then selling a ton of them in bulk." Trading between two users was removed that day, with the Community Market left open, and the post added "if i can handle the bots then i will try to bring this back". On November 10, 2025 a post re-enabled "all items for trading with friends"; it does not say that trading between any two users came back. The rule-by-rule history is on exchange and trading.

What the feed does not contain matters as much. None of the 63 announcements announces an account ban or a wipe of farmed items: ban (as a whole word), wipe and rollback have 0 matches in their titles and text. The word revert appears in two posts. One is a patch note of March 18, 2025, "Revert controller changes". The other is the one offer to revert something for players, from May 9, 2025, when a bug traded in non-duplicate items and the developer offered to "revert your last exchange" for affected players (fix notes). Whether accounts were actioned without an announcement is not confirmed.

What happened to the 5 million click reward?

It was lowered. The February 5, 2026 post says: "we added a special skin and hat for everyone who reaches 1 million clicks (this was edited back down from 5M, sorry for all the troubles)". That parenthesis is the post's one mention of 5M, and it gives no reason. One month later, the anniversary post of March 5, 2026 said the tap-amount achievements added that day give cosmetics too.

So raw tap totals do unlock things. The thresholds and unlock rates are on the achievements page. Resetting the visible counter does not touch them: the March 28, 2025 notes describe an "Option to reset your current taps (doesn't reset your achievement)".

Does Bongo Cat flag you as AFK?

In lobbies, yes. The Afk Warning from April 16, 2026 lets players "see if people are inactive in your lobby (after 2 minutes of inactivity)". The announcement does not say whether being inactive changes drops, pass progress or lobby membership, so any effect beyond the visible flag is not confirmed. Lobby features are covered in the multiplayer guide.

Steam's own idle state was blamed once. In March 2025 the developer traced the red cross error to this: "the moment Steam detects you as "away" it will mess with the item drops". The March 18, 2025 notes say the update "Should fix the red cross". Neither of those two March 2025 posts says whether automated input keeps Steam from marking you away.

Should you use one?

Our view, not a rule of the game: we see little to gain. If the 30-minute drop timer from the February 23, 2025 demo update still applies, regular chests are capped by it, and after that update no announcement calls any length of time the drop timer (the May 8, 2025 Steam Error Fix post mentions 30min without calling it the chest timer); none of the 63 announcements ties the store's tier odds, which are marked "Subject to change", to tap counts; and the developer has shipped an official tie-in that automates taps. The open risks are the three not confirmed points above, plus other games' anti-cheat, which is discussed on is Bongo Cat safe. Typing as usual is the input the official posts describe.

Sources

The mechanics and numbers in this guide come from the material below. Open the original pages to check them yourself.

  1. S001 api.steampowered.com api.steampowered.com Accessed
  2. S002 Steam store page store.steampowered.com Accessed
  3. S003 Steam Next Fest Demo Update store.steampowered.com Accessed
  4. S004 QoL, Bug Fixes and Trading Changes store.steampowered.com Accessed
  5. S005 Bug fixes & Red Cross Fix store.steampowered.com Accessed
  6. S006 Bug Fixes & New Features store.steampowered.com Accessed
  7. S007 April 20, 2025 update store.steampowered.com Accessed
  8. S008 fix notes store.steampowered.com Accessed
  9. S009 Animal Shelter - Charity Event store.steampowered.com Accessed
  10. S010 Steam Typing Fest store.steampowered.com Accessed
  11. S011 anniversary post store.steampowered.com Accessed
  12. S012 Meowtiplayer Chat, DLC Release, Collection Bundle store.steampowered.com Accessed
  13. S013 Discord Integration, Afk Warning, The Typer Was Replaced store.steampowered.com Accessed
  14. S014 Community Voting, Language Filter & Fixes store.steampowered.com Accessed
  15. S015 June 27, 2026 store.steampowered.com Accessed
  16. S016 July 12, 2026 store.steampowered.com Accessed
  17. S017 September 1, 2026 store.steampowered.com Accessed
  18. S018 own announcement store.steampowered.com Accessed
  19. S019 Steam store page store.steampowered.com Accessed
  20. S020 May 8, 2025 notes store.steampowered.com Accessed
  21. S021 Steam Error Fix store.steampowered.com Accessed
Request

Request a guide

Describe what you need. The message goes straight to the editor's inbox.

Only used to reply to you.