Phasmophobia Roadmap: 1.0 Delay and What Is Next
Scope: Kinetic Games' roadmap posts of January 31 and June 24, 2026, the two roadmap graphics inside them, and later patch notes up to October 7, 2026; every date here is the developer's stated plan and the graphics are marked subject to change
Key points
- Phasmophobia 1.0 is planned for the second half of 2027; the developer moved it out of 2026 on June 24, 2026 and said the Nintendo Switch 2 version comes at the same time.
- Still on the 2026 roadmap: Unity 6 (now scheduled for November), a second Player Character update, the 42 Edgefield Road rework, Winter's Jest and one more content update.
- Already shipped from the 2026 plans: the 6 Tanglewood Drive and 13 Willow Street reworks, the Player Character Update and two Quality of Life updates.
- The Steam store page still says full release is planned for the second half of 2026; the June post is newer and says 2027.

On this page
- When does Phasmophobia 1.0 come out?
- How did the Phasmophobia roadmap change between January and June?
- What is still planned for Phasmophobia in the rest of 2026?
- What is in Phasmophobia's Unity 6 update?
- What will the second Player Character update add?
- What do we know about Phasmophobia 1.0 itself?
- Why does Phasmophobia's Steam page still say 2026?
- Sources
- Related guides
Phasmophobia 1.0 is now planned for the second half of 2027, together with the Nintendo Switch 2 version. Kinetic Games moved it out of 2026 on June 24, 2026. Still listed for this year: the Unity 6 update, now scheduled for November, a second Player Character update, the 42 Edgefield Road rework, Winter's Jest and one more content update.
When does Phasmophobia 1.0 come out?
Not in 2026, according to the developer's June 24 plan. The Phasmophobia 2026 and Beyond post says: "Earlier this year, we committed to launching Phasmophobia 1.0 at the end of 2026." It then continues: "we're making the decision to move the release of 1.0 to the second half of 2027. The game will be coming to the Nintendo Switch 2 at the same time too."
No day or month has been given. The same post lists "Phasmophobia 1.0, as well as our next new map, will now launch in 2027" among its headlines, so the next brand-new map moved with it.
How did the Phasmophobia roadmap change between January and June?
There are two Phasmophobia roadmaps for 2026. The first came with the January post, which called the year "our journey to 1.0". The second replaced it in June, in a post that also apologised for the state the Player Character Update left the game in. The middle columns below are read from the two roadmap graphics and the text around them.
| Item | January 2026 roadmap | June 2026 roadmap | Status on October 10, 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6 Tanglewood Drive rework | Listed under Maps | Not on the graphic (already out) | Shipped as v0.16.0.0 on March 3 |
| Player Character update | Listed under Major Updates | A second one added for November | First one shipped as v0.17.0.0 on May 5 |
| 13 Willow Street rework | "later in the year" | July, with Quality of Life Part 1 | Shipped as v0.18.0.0 on July 21 |
| Quality of Life updates | Not listed | July and August | Shipped July 21 and August 25 |
| Unity 6 | "Unity 6 & Network Update" | October | Moved: "scheduled for November" |
| Network or netcode update | Listed with Unity 6 | Not on the graphic | The word netcode appears in no official Steam post after January 31 |
| New map | "another new map in 2026" | Moved to 2027 | Not released |
| 42 Edgefield Road rework | Not listed | December on the graphic | Not released |
| Nintendo Switch 2 release | Listed under Major Updates | With 1.0 | Planned for the second half of 2027 |
| 1.0, horror rework and lore update | Listed for 2026 | 2027, with 1.0 (the June graphic lists only "1.0, Switch 2 and more") | 1.0 planned for the second half of 2027 |
| New one-time event | Listed under Events | Not on the graphic | See the note below |
On the last row: the January graphic has a tile reading "New One Time Event", and the text says "we'll be adding a new limited-time event to the game". In May the game ran Phasmophobia by Alan Wake, which its patch notes call "our one-time in-game event". The developer has not said in so many words that this was the roadmap tile, so we leave the link as likely, not stated.

What is still planned for Phasmophobia in the rest of 2026?
The June graphic is laid out by month. Here it is with every later statement we could find attached.
| Month on the June graphic | Item | What the developer has said since |
|---|---|---|
| October | Crimson Eye | Announced for October 8 to November 1; see our Crimson Eye page |
| October | Unity 6 | September 10 notes: "releasing in November, which is just a little shift from our original aim of October" |
| November | Player Character Visual Update | September 10 notes mention a "cosmetics update" to be covered in an upcoming Development Preview, without naming this tile or giving a date |
| December | Edgefield Rework | Nothing further |
| December | Winters Jest | Nothing further; no dates announced |
| TBC | Content Update | Nothing further |
Both Unity 6 and the second Player Character update now point at November. Whether both still land that month has not been confirmed in any post we read, and the graphic itself is marked "subject to change".
The June text describes the unnamed content update as "one extra content update for the game later in 2026 that'll bring with it changes to our Weekly Challenges", plus new Voice Recognition features "and more". It also says Crimson Eye and Winter's Jest return "(sans leaderboards)". How events have worked so far is on the events page.
What is in Phasmophobia's Unity 6 update?
It is an engine move, not a content drop. The June post says the Unity 6 update brings stability work "as well as a brand new lighting system for Phasmophobia". It adds "further accessibility options such as preferences for colour blind players as well as further quality of life improvements and bug fixes".
The October 7 patch notes describe it as "our next major update" and say it "will feature a host of bug fixes and improvements, all of which we'll detail in an upcoming Development Preview". That preview had not been posted when we checked on October 10, 2026.
What will the second Player Character update add?
The first one drew an apology, and on May 11 the developer said it had "made the decision to release a second Player Character Update with additional content and changes". The June post gives the fullest description: it "will arrive in November, bringing with it brand new customisation options and cosmetics, an improved Shop UI as well as new animations and graphical improvements for our character models in-game".
Some items from the May list have already shipped inside the Quality of Life updates, such as Legacy Badge editing in the Customisation shop (v0.19.0.0). The full history of that update is in our 2026 patch notes timeline.
What do we know about Phasmophobia 1.0 itself?
The posts we read state four things about 1.0's content, none with numbers.
- A horror rework. The December 2025 Development Preview says the horror update "will be the meatiest part of the 1.0 release" and that 1.0 includes "what was previously known as Horror 2.0". The January graphic adds "Lore Update".
- New ghost models. The June post shows a "first look at the improved model for Patient 07" and says all ghost models get a visual upgrade.
- Conduits. "Replacing the Bone as a collectable during each contract, these are unique items paired with a particular ghost model." The post defines one as "an item that ties a ghost to our world, preventing them from moving on".
- More visibility. "Beginning in 2027 we'll be bringing you with us during development through regular streams and other means".
Anything beyond that list, such as how Conduits pay out or which ghosts are redesigned first, is not stated in the posts we read.
Why does Phasmophobia's Steam page still say 2026?
Because the store text is older than the delay. On October 10, 2026 the Early Access section of the Steam store page still read: "The current plan is to get to a full release in the second half of 2026 however this may change depending on features added and how the game will progress through early access."
The June 24 post is the newer statement, so this hub uses 2027. The same store section says the price "will likely change upon final release out of early access" with warning beforehand; current pricing is on the platforms and price page.
Sources
The mechanics and numbers in this guide come from the material below. Open the original pages to check them yourself.
- S001 2026 and Beyond post www.kineticgames.co.uk Accessed
- S002 January post www.kineticgames.co.uk Accessed
- S003 www.kineticgames.co.uk www.kineticgames.co.uk Accessed
- S004 www.kineticgames.co.uk www.kineticgames.co.uk Accessed
- S005 October 7 patch notes www.kineticgames.co.uk Accessed
- S006 www.kineticgames.co.uk www.kineticgames.co.uk Accessed
- S007 www.kineticgames.co.uk www.kineticgames.co.uk Accessed
- S008 Steam store page store.steampowered.com Accessed
- S009 clan.akamai.steamstatic.com clan.akamai.steamstatic.com Accessed
- S010 clan.akamai.steamstatic.com clan.akamai.steamstatic.com Accessed
- S011 www.kineticgames.co.uk www.kineticgames.co.uk Accessed
- S012 www.kineticgames.co.uk www.kineticgames.co.uk Accessed
- S013 www.kineticgames.co.uk www.kineticgames.co.uk Accessed
- S014 www.kineticgames.co.uk www.kineticgames.co.uk Accessed
- S015 www.kineticgames.co.uk www.kineticgames.co.uk Accessed
- S016 www.kineticgames.co.uk www.kineticgames.co.uk Accessed


